skip to Main Content

The Montessori method distinguishes three distinct periods in human development, extending from birth to twelve, and which result in 3 different programs…

For children aged birth to three years

  • provide a safe, engaging and nurturing environment for the child
  • promote trust in themselves and their world
  • develop confidence in their emerging abilities
  • develop gross motor coordination, fine motor skills, and language skills
  • offer opportunities to gain independence in daily tasks

For children aged three to six years

  • foster the growth of functional independence, task persistence and self-regulation
  • promote social development through respectful, clear communication and safe, natural consequences
  • contain a large variety of materials for the refinement of sensory perception and the development of literacy and mathematical understanding
  • offer opportunities for imaginative exploration leading to confident, creative self-expression

For children aged six to twelve years

  • offer opportunities for collaborative intellectual exploration in which the child’s interests are supported and guided
  • support the development of self-confidence, imagination, intellectual independence and self-efficacy
  • foster an understanding of the child’s role in their community, in their culture and in the natural world
Back To Top
×Close search